Election Day is upon us

Tomorrow is Election Day.  It is hard to believe that after four months of working toward my goal of being elected to the school board, we are just a little over 24 hours away from knowing the outcome of the election.  It is important for everyone to vote.  Whether supporting me as a candidate or not, voting is a civic duty.   Thomas Jefferson believed that education of the citizenry was the best way to ensure that those who rule would be kept in check.  He was a firm believer in developing citizenship through education.  While I haven’t voted in every election since I turned 18, I have voted in most of them.  One way in which we can have voice and influence the direction over our lives is to vote.  So I am asking you all to vote tomorrow.  Vote in the races that matter most to you.  If you aren’t sure who to vote for, do your homework.  The state journal has an interactive link that you can go to in order to personalize a ballot.  It pulls the races that you get to vote in based on your street address.  I think that is pretty cool that they provide that service.

When I began my run for the school board, it was because I wanted a chance to serve.  I also believe that voters should be given a choice.  I don’t like to see elections go uncontested.  I think all candidates need to be put through their paces to prove why they are worthy of representing the populace.   I have one of two contested races in Verona.  I would encourage anyone taking the time to read this to consider running in a race during the next election cycle.  People should have choices.  It is hard to bring about change or expect change if there is not another option on the ballot.    I mean no disrespect to any of the current alders in Verona who are running unopposed.  I just believe that elections should be about having a choice.

So again, I ask you to vote tomorrow if you haven’t already done so.  This is your opportunity to express your voice.  I want to thank all of those people who have helped me run this candidacy.  I have received support from a number of folks over the past four months.  From monetary donations, to assistance with lit dropping, it has been greatly appreciated.  I also need to thank my wife and kids for their patience over the past four months.  As I took time away from them to meet with different groups across the district, it had an impact.  My wife has been fantastic and she deserves a ton of credit for keeping me motivated.   I also owe my co-workers a lot as they have helped cover for me while I have used vacation time to get out of the office and attend meetings with constituent groups. 

Over the past weekend and a little bit of today I was able to get to 600+ homes to drop literature.   It felt good but now my knees and back are both paying the price.  If I learned anything from this experience it is that I needed to start sooner with everything.  I also needed to not be worried about asking for help.  It is hard for me to do, but as I found out, there are a lot of awesome people out there willing to lend a hand.

Thanks for following me over the past month or so.  I will continue to blog about educational issues following the outcome of the election.   Let’s hope that the next post will be as an official member of the Verona Area school board.

Vote John McCulley for Verona Area School Board.

About johnmmcculley

Father of three, currently serving in my first term on the Verona Area School Board. Hoping to help foster more open discussions about the future of education in my community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

