Update from the Campaign Trail

After my last blog entry I have to admit that it seems a bit weird going back to writing about the campaign as we head for the homestretch of the election.  I really am not sure how to follow up that last entry, thus why it has taken me a little longer than usual to post a new entry.  As I put the finishing touches on my responses to the Verona Press’s questionnaire and finish some work on campaign financing paperwork, I am trying to reflect back on my week and think of the things that were newsworthy.

It feels like my campaign has finally started to take off.  I have a lot of people stopping me and asking if I’m “that guy running for that thing”.  Yes, yes I am.  I have people requesting signage for their yards and more people volunteering to help me get the word out.  I feel like I really have some momentum building up.  The biggest issue I face at this point is the election date.  I have had a number of people say they would vote for me, but they will be out of town due to it being spring break.  Lucky for them and for me, people can go in and vote early as of Monday the 19th.  Contact your local polling place but you should be able to go in between 9-4 and vote now so you can avoid the rush later.

As for this week, I have to once again say how fortunate we are to have such wonderful people working in our schools.  I can also say that about the parents I have met this week that are so passionate about their children’s education.  I also met one of our High School students during the Rotary luncheon and I must say that if she were on the ballot, I would be voting for her.

On Monday I had the opportunity to meet with Bob McNallie at Core Knowledge Charter School, Lynn Berge of New Century Charter School and Sandy Eskrich, Associate Principal at Savannah Oaks Middle School.  One interesting common theme among them is they all have worked in school psychology or guidance.  You can tell that they are all very passionate about their schools and the role they play. 

On Tuesday I attended Site Council meetings at Sugar Creek Elementary and New Century Charter School.    Both meetings were helpful for different reasons.  I think the Sugar Creek meeting was really beneficial for a number of reasons.  At the New Century meeting, it was more of an opportunity for me to meet with parents in that school community.   It was a good opportunity and I appreciate the invite I was given.    

Also on Tuesday, I attended the Rotary Luncheon at the Pancake Café.  Another one of Verona/Fitchburg’s Service focused organizations.  It was a very nice luncheon.  I got to meet a good number of Rotarians, but I also got to hear about one of our HS students that were being recognized for her service to others.  Chloe (sp?) Imhoff is a high school senior who has been involved from day one of high school and has continually worked on ways to give back to others in the community.   Like the Lions whom I mentioned last week, the Rotary works to give back to the school district in a number of ways.  Most notably are the scholarships they sponsor each year with 5 students who get recognized during the course of the year for their efforts.  Also like the Lions, the Rotary is a small organization but a very friendly and social group.  If you are looking into joining a service organization, either club would be a great option.  One thing Ms. Imhoff said during her comments after receiving her recognition was that her parents got her involved in community service at a young age.  She said for her it just became what was expected and by the time she got to high school she was seeking out the opportunities.  I would encourage you to take your kids and get involved in community service organizations or projects.  The world needs more people who care about making it a better place without worrying about making a profit.  Thanks again to the Lions and the Rotary for making me feel welcome and allowing me to participate.

Finally, tonight I attended a parent teacher conference at Country View elementary for my oldest daughter.   After it was over, I took a quick run through the Art and Author Fair.  Many thanks go out to all of the parents who worked hard to coordinate the event.  I also want to thank the students for their contributions to the fair.  I would encourage all parents to really take the time to go to the schools and see the good works that our students are producing.   I know I sound like a broken record, but we have talented teachers and staff who work extremely hard to help our children obtain a good education.  Their efforts should not go unnoticed.  And we have great kids.  We should take pride and also make sure they enjoy their special moments when they occur.

In the morning I am meeting with Ms. Taylor at Glacier Edge elementary school.  I look forward to touring the facility and hearing about the community that has been established at Glacier Edge.

It is getting late and I have miles to go before I sleep.  God Bless and goodnight!

About johnmmcculley

Father of three, currently serving in my first term on the Verona Area School Board. Hoping to help foster more open discussions about the future of education in my community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

